Junior Ministers Announced In Second Phase Of Reshuffle


The Taoiseach and Tánaiste have promoted eight backbenchers into the junior Ministerial ranks.

The big winner is Wicklow TD Simon Harris who takes on the role of Junior Minister in the Department of Finance.

Five outgoing Ministers of State were sacked by Enda Kenny and Joan Burton.

Meanwhile as expected government chief whip Wexford’s Paul Kehoe is to keep his position.

The Tánaiste told Joe Costello she had no place for him in the junior ranks, while Enda Kenny dropped John Perry, Dinny McGinley, Ciaran Cannon and Fergus O’Dowd.

Getting promoted – Simon Harris got the best of the jobs as the new junior finance minister, Dara Murphy gets European Affairs, Damien English Education, Paudie Coffey to Environment and Joe McHugh – the Gaeltacht.

Getting the nod for Labour – Kevin Humphreys to Social Protection, Anmn Phelan Rural Affairs and Aodhan O’Riordan to Justice.

Staying in were the Chief Whip Paul Kehoe, Super Junior for Business and Employment Ged Nash, Junior Agriculture Minister Tom Hayes, Sports Minister Michael Ring and the new role for Jimmy Deenihan for the Irish Abroad announced last week.

Labour’s Kathleen Lynch stays as a junior health minister, while Seán Sherlock moves to Foreign Affairs for Overseas Aid.

The notable absence from the Fine Gael side of the junior line-up are women – and of the 19 total Fine Gael Ministers – senior and junior – just two are female.

More News