New Ministers Receive Seals Of Office


The new Ministers of Justice and Children have received their seals of office.

They were presented to Frances Fitzgerald and Charlie Flanagan at Aras an Uachtarain this afternoon.

Their appointments came about following the resignation of Alan Shatter from the Cabinet yesterday.

President Michael D Higgins is currently on an official visit to the United States.

In his absence – the Presidential Commission – which is made up of the Chief Justice Susan Denham, the Ceann Comhairle Sean Barrett and the Cathaoirleach of the Seanad Paddy Burke – stepped in to present seals of office to the new Ministers of Justice and Children this afteroon.

The Taoiseach Enda Kenny appointed Minister Fitzgerald as Alan Shatter’s successor in the Department of Justice following his resignation yesterday.

Minister Flanagan – the Chairman of the Fine Gael party – was appointed to the Department of Children as Frances Fitzgerald’s replacement.

During a short ceremony at Aras an Uachtarain – their warrants of appointment were signed by the Presidential Commission and the Taoiseach.

The seals of office were then presented to Frances Fizgerald and Charlie Flanagan – officially marking the start of their time in office.

To top
Audio Wave Audio Wave Audio Wave Audio Wave Audio Wave Audio Wave