Some Wexford Schools To Close On Wednesday 18th As The Aftermath Of Ophelia Continues

A number of schools across County Wexford are set to remain closed on Wednesday the 18th of October as the aftermath of Hurricane Ophelia continues.

A large number of homes and businesses across County Wexford are still without power and a number of areas in the County have no water supply as a result of the damage from the storm.

The schools which have contacted South East Radio so far and will remain closed on Wednesday 18th are as follows:

St. Joseph’s National School, Hilltown, Ballymitty, Co. Wexford

Bridgetown College, Bridgetown, Co. Wexford

Boolavogue National School

Rathnure National School

Glynn National School

Taghmon National School

Rathnure National School

Colaiste an Atha Kilmuckridge

Scoil Naoimh Madhog Ferns

Rathangan National School

St Colman’s National School Ballindaggin

Scoil Mhuire Horeswood

Cushinstown National School 

Monageer National School

Monamolin National School

Danescastle National School

Clongeen National School

Scoil Mochua, Oulart

Gael Scoil Enniscorthy

Caim National School

Horeswood National School

Ballymurn National School

Kilmore National School

St. Patrick’s National School Crossabeg

St. Ibars National School Castlebridge


Other Facilities closed today as a result of no power or water are:

St Louis Day Care Centre is closed

Teach Spraoi Childcare Taghmon

The offices of New Ross Chamber of Commerce on South Street will remain closed due to damage caused by Hurricane Ophelia.  It is hoped the offices will re-open on Monday 23rd October.  If you need to contact New Ross Chamber please email




To top
Audio Wave Audio Wave Audio Wave Audio Wave Audio Wave Audio Wave